Thursday, November 22, 2012

2012 Canadian Children's Literature Awards Gala!

Last night, the Canadian Children's Book Centre and TD Bank Group put on a dazzling gala at the Ritz-Carlton hotel to celebrate Canadian children's literature. Before the awards presentation, authors, illustrators, publishing and media professionals, and avid readers of all stripes mingled over a delicious buffet and signature martinis. Here are some Annick authors and illustrators enjoying the night:

Author Kate Cayley, right, with her friend Simone
Authors Kathy Stinson (L) and Andrea Wayne von Königslöw ham it up for the camera
Annick was fortunate to have a number of authors nominated: Edeet Ravel for Held (John Spray Mystery Award), Kate Cayley for The Hangman in the Mirror (Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People), and Rafal Gerszak and Dawn Hunter for Beyond Bullets (Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children's Non-Fiction).

The awards ceremony was a lively affair, skillfully hosted by CBC's Garvia Bailey (Big City, Small World). It was wonderful to hear the awards presenters re-affirm the importance of literacy and children's books, and to see the authors and illustrators recognized for their contributions to Canadian children's literature.

We are very proud to announce that Kate Cayley won the Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction. The jury described her winning book, The Hangman in the Mirror, as follows:
“A truly captivating piece of historical fiction that brings to life the gritty realities of life in 18th century New France... Cayley’s skills as a playwright are evident in the way the novel reads... The setting is so vivid and Cayley masterfully depicts the extreme disparity between the lives of the rich and the poor... Françoise is a delightfully multi-dimensional and very realistic character and Cayley does a fabulous job of capturing the essence of life at that time... A thoroughly engaging story that keeps readers riveted.”

Kate Cayley accepts her award for The Hangman in the Mirror
The other winners were:
  • TD Canadian Children's Literature Award: Trilby Kent, Stones for My Father (Tundra)
  • Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award: Genevieve Cote, Without You (Kids Can)
  • Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children's Non-Fiction: Susan Vande Griek (ill. Karen Reczuch), Loon (Groundwood)
  • John Spray Mystery Award: Rob Mills, Charlie's Key (Orca)
  • Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy: P.J. Sarah Collins, What Happened to Serenity? (Red Deer Press)
You can read more about all the nominees and winners on the CCBC website. Be forewarned: your to-be-read pile is about to grow by leaps and bounds!

A big thank-you to the jury members, who had some very tough decisions to make, and another round of congratulations to all of the nominated authors and illustrators, and the teams that worked on their books!

No comments: